I want to find my first paying customer

24th November 2021
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Zapier's SEO Playbook to get 2M organic monthly traffic!
Zapier's SEO Playbook to get 2M organic monthly traffic!
Unacademy IPL Ads Spend - Was the 40 Cr ads spent worth it?
Unacademy IPL Ads Spend - Was the 40 Cr ads spent worth it?
Facebook loses 250 billion in a single day!
Facebook loses 250 billion in a single day!

Zapier's SEO Playbook to get 2M organic monthly traffic!

Zapier is a simple workflow automation tool that allows you to move information between apps & connect them to create automated workflows. It gets ~2M monthly traffic & has 50k+ automated pages! It's vastly successful, thanks to its brilliant SEO strategy.

To drive traffic to their website, Zapier created two sets of pages. The blogs on "Best Apps" & the App Integration pages.

One of the top-performing Zapier subfolders is the /apps landing page. This set of pages accounts for ~15% of Zapier's total traffic with 235K monthly visitors! The idea behind creating these pages is simple. Zapier wants to target all users who are searching for ways to connect different apps.

This set of pages forms a 4 stage hierarchy, where each stage links to the next stage. The pages are, Main Page -> App Profile Page -> App-to-App Integration -> Zaps Page.

Next, the best app blogs are basically blogs that list down top apps in the market in a particular category. For example, the best URL shorteners, the best note-taking apps, the best to-do list apps, etc. These pages get 900K monthly organic traffic, ie. 60% of traffic to their site!

Zapier ranks for really difficult keywords with these pages. It does that by writing high-quality SEO optimized content, internally linking all pages to flow the authority & acquiring high-quality backlinks.

All these pages are internally linked & are created using an automated template to reduce effort while creating new pages!

Unacademy IPL Ads Spend - Was the 40 Cr ads spent worth it?

Unacademy started out as a simple college hobby for a co-founder, Gaurav Munjal. In 5 years, it was built into the actual company with a free tier and a subscription model.

Being the 2nd largest ed-tech startup in India, Unacademy enjoys a lot of attention from VCs.

Its current valuation is $3.44B, after it raised a $440M funding round in 2021. Much like any other VC-funded startup with deep pockets, Unacademy naturally spends a huge amount on growing its user base.

Given the wild popularity of IPL in India and that most of their target audience tunes in to watch IPL, Unacademy spends a ton on IPL ads.

1) Overall, in 2022, Unacademy spent Rs 40 Cr on IPL ads in 2022.

2) Their target audience accounts for over 40% of IPL’s total 20 Cr viewership, which is 8 Cr target audience.

3) Unacademy's paying user conversion rate = paying users/net users = 350K/30M *100 = 1.1%.

4) Traditionally, the TV ad conversion rate is 0.7%. So, net net the paying users = 8 Cr x 0.7% x 1% = 5600 users.

5) We finally get the customer acquisition cost (cac) = Rs 40 Cr/5600 users = Rs 72K/user

6) If we say that on average the course fee is around 10K. Unacademy still is burning ~60K per user acquired.

Facebook loses 250 billion in a single day!

Last week, Facebook's parent company Meta lost $250B in a single day. Consequently, Meta's shares dropped by 26% & Zuckerberg's net worth fell by $31B.

Over the years, Facebook has always seen steady growth in the number of users. Until the 4th quarter of 2021, when its daily global users fell by 1M. In the bigger scheme of things, that's just a 0.05% drop for Facebook, so why fuss about it?

Well, this drop could probably mean a beginning to continuous decline for Facebook OR it could just be a regular up & down all companies witness.

Now, one reason behind these events could be Apple's new privacy policy. According to the new policy, users have to opt in to getting tracked on their phones. Of course, over 60% of users opted out. As Facebook relies on Ad money, this was a major hit. They lost $10bn in 2021 because of the policy alone.

Additionally, apps like TikTok & YouTube are growing each day to challenge Facebook's once help lead in the social media. Even advertisers have more options to air their advertisements.

With growing competition & Apple's privacy policy, it'll be interesting to see how Facebook tackled these issues. But for now, they have placed their bets on the Metaverse.

Metaverse is a high-risk high-reward scheme and the only other major tech company operating in this space is Microsoft.

Facebook lost over $10 billion on this last year, but it's all insignificant if Facebook's bet plays out well. Of course, only time will tell if the Metaverse becomes a reality and who wins the race. For now, though, Facebook has a bumpy ride ahead.